Hi everyone!  It's great to see you here.  My name's Janine and I want to tell you a little about myself.

I would describe myself as friendly, down-to-earth and caring, but also a bit moody and a little too sensitive at times.  I'm quite shy, but I love people.  I genuinely love helping people, which is probably why I enjoy my job so much.  I've had to learn Swedish and I can relate to my students who are going through the same steps with their English.  The ecstasy when you can finally communicate in another language... and the frustration when you just can't express yourself in the way you would in your own language.

I'm from a small coastal town in Australia called Coolum.  It's on the Sunshine Coast, and yes, it's as beautiful as it sounds.  On the Sunshine Coast, you're never far from beautiful beaches, mountains and rainforest.

I am married to Kalle and we have two children, Emilia and Charlie.  Emilia's nearly eight and Charlie's five.

I've been living in Sweden for ten years.  The time's flown by!  When we left Australia we were only planning to stay here for three years, but I've grown to love Sweden and it's quite difficult to leave.  Every winter I struggle with the lack of light, but when spring comes I realise it's an wonderful place to be.  I especially love the long, light summer evenings.

I'm quite obsessed with photography, so when I have some free time, I'm usually taking photos or reading about photography.  I also love reading and relaxing with a cup of tea.  I wish I loved exercising more, but I don't.  One day I'll dust off my trainers and start running.

This is my family.


I'd love to learn more about you.  Write a little about yourself in the comments box below.


7 thoughts on “Janine

  1. Ayse Seyda Gulen

    I'm Ayse, and I'm 21 years old. I normally live in Turkey, but I came here to study English. I'm a student and I study interior architecture.
    I have two brothers and a sister. My younger brother is 12, my older brother is 23 and my sister is 17. My father is a diplomat, and my mother is a housewife. They have been married for 25 years.
    I like to listen to music, read, travel, go shopping, go to the cinema, spending time with my friends and many other. I exercise every day.
    Nowadays, I get very bored due to the calmness of the city. I don't have much to do during the days.
    I come to Sweden every now and then during vacations.

    1. Janine

      Post author

      It's great to learn more about you, Ayse. What kind of movies do you enjoy watching?

  2. Ahmad Abu Jaish

    My name is Ahmad I’m 25 years old and I’m from Jordan. I’ve been living in Sweden for eight months. I have two brothers and two sisters. Playing football is one of my favorite sports. The most exciting sport to watch in my opinion is football specially during big competition such as the world cup, champions league, and also local leagues.
    I studied Biotechnology And Genetic Engineering at Jordan University Of Science And Technology (JUST) in Jordan.
    After graduation from school, I worked as an embryologist in Farah hospital at the in vitro fertilization unit (IVF).After two years of working, I admitted to master of Applied Biotechnology program at Uppsala University in Sweden.
    I have taken a study break for one year to improve my English skills.

    1. Janine

      Post author

      Hi Ahmad. It's nice to hear from you. Are you enjoying your break from studying? What else do you want to do with your time before you start studying again?

      1. Ahmad Abu Jaish

        yes, but I miss my university.I will go back to my country for a vacation next June.

  3. Florinda Epalanga

    My name is Florinda, I'm from Angola.
    I have three big brothers, one little sister and a lovely dog.
    I lived in Greece since 2004 until 2011 and three years in Mozambique. I have been living in Sweden for two Months.
    I live with my mother, my sister and the dog.

    In my free time, I like to go to the cinema, shopping and hang out with friends.
    My passions are to listen to romantics songs, especially Brazilian and to read poems.
    I love baking and I hope that one day I will be able to do those amazing wedding cakes. I'm addicted to movies and novels by Nicholas Sparks.
    If I had the chance to choose a city to live, I would choose New York in order to marry an Afro American 🙂 .

  4. Magdalena Piechnik

    Hi everyone,

    My name is Magdalena and I'm 29 years old. I originally come from Poland but the last ten years of my life I've lieved in Germany, in the beautiful capital city of Bavaria called Munich. I'm in love with this city, it's amazing closeness to nature and the breath-taking views across the Alps to Italy. I will never hisitate to say it's my second home! 😉

    I studied Business Administration at the Munich University of Applied Sciences and after my study I've worked in the automotive field as a Junior Purchaser.

    Three months ago I moved to Sweden and my life has been completely changed. Together with my boyfriend we are going to stay here because of his job for the next three years.
    Currently I spent my time discovering Stockholm and Swedish landscape. I also improve my English skills at Folkuniversitetet and looking forward to make my life in Sweden more challenging and to get the possibility to develop myself.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *